Amazing Chinese Paper Cutting Arts

I remember when I was small, I used to do paper cutting at my grandmom’s house. It’s my aunt hobby to cut down every cute figurines and paste them on a scrapbook. The little me just helped, oops no, 🙂 I would say played around, with the cut pieces and messed up the table eventually. 🙂

When Chinese New Year approaching, I saw people pasting the red paper cuttings on the wall. They were finely cut, animal, flowers and Chinese characters symbolizing luck and prosperity were the subjects of the traditional art works.

Nowadays, we could still see the work but only on the exhibition. I was truly amazed when I hit upon this video on Youtube. It seems that the arts are developing well in China and Japan. They even injects animation feature into the arts.

You see, how cute the boy and the buffalo are! They must be enjoying on the road in the flute music!

Sharing with you more Chinese paper cutting  pictures. Hope the world would know more about this wonderful folk arts from China:

                                 

~ by Carrey on 18 May 2008.

2 Responses to “Amazing Chinese Paper Cutting Arts”

  1. This is truely awesome. Thank you for sharing.
    sugali

  2. Very cool. Check out these paper cuts http://www.tahitipehrson.com pretty amazing!

Leave a Reply

 
