Challenges Of Self-Discipline.

I came across a post self-discipline at the blog of Steve Pavlina.

He listed down several challenges to get us thinking about where we stand right now. It’s important to know where we stand before we try to improve our self discipline. This is what I seriously lacking of. My answers(line of words in gray font) are as follows:

  • Do you shower/bathe every day?
  • Yes. Twice per day eh!
  • Do you get up at the same time every morning? Including weekends?
  • Mmm…8am, wait +~20mins when I was too indulged in my sweet dream. Sunday? No.
  • Are you overweight?
  • Yes……
  • Do you have any addictions (caffeine, nicotine, sugar, etc.) you’d like to break but haven’t?
  • Yeah, I guess so…addicted to sleep and online chatting.
  • Is your email inbox empty right now?
  • It’s been 3 days of holidays, never got the chance to clear it.
  • Is your office neat and well organized?
  • Yeah, sure.
  • Is your home neat and well organized?
  • Well, it’s a bit messy but my room is well organized.
  • How much time do you waste in a typical day? On a weekend?
  • Oh…that strikes my weekest point, my record time is 16 hours, 8 hours used for sleeping. Besides working at the official hours, basically I don’t do anything productive in my leisure time. Weekend? Worse.
  • If you make a promise to someone, what’s the percentage chance you’ll keep it?
  • 90-100%. This is one thing I proud of myself.
  • If you make a promise to yourself, what’s the percentage chance you’ll keep it?
  • Haha……it’s the opposite, it could be 0%. Apparently I don’t treat myself fairly good.
  • Could you fast for one day?
  • I’ve never tried that. I tried half day only.
  • How well organized is your computer’s hard drive?
  • Not bad I guess.
  • How often do you exercise?
  • Errr…I went sauna once a week but exercise, none.
  • What’s the greatest physical challenge you’ve ever faced, and how long ago was it?
  • Climbed up a hill. It was back in 1993. 13 years ago, ha ha!
  • How many hours of focused work do you complete in a typical workday?
  • 2-3 hours. I know that’s ridiculous.
  • How many items on your to do list are older than 90 days?
  • 6 out of 8.
  • Do you have clear, written goals? Do you have written plans to achieve them?
  • I have goals but not clearly written.
  • If you lost your job, how much time would you spend each day looking for a new one, and how long would you maintain that level of effort?
  • I would spend a morning each day looking for a new one but I’m not sure how long I would maintain.
  • How much TV do you currently watch? Could you give up TV for 30 days?
  • I don’t watch much TV currently. I could. I’m not a TV addict.
  • How do you look right now? What does your appearance say about your level of discipline (clothes, grooming, etc)?
  • I look quite plump right now, a typical no self-discipline look.
  • Do you primarily select foods to eat based on health considerations or on taste/satiety?
  • Based on health considerations.
  • When was the last time you consciously adopted a positive new habit? Discontinued a bad habit?
  • 2 years back. Yet to discontinue my bad habit.
  • Are you in debt? Do you consider this debt an investment or a mistake?
  • Yes. I consider 80% of it as an investment, the rest a mistake.
  • Did you decide in advance to be reading this blog right now, or did it just happen?
  • I decided in advance.
  • Can you tell me what you’ll be doing tomorrow? Next weekend?
  • Work. I can’t tell now. Most probably work and go shopping.
  • On a scale of 1-10, how would you rate your overall level of self-discipline?
  • 4. Failed.
  • What more could you accomplish if you could answer that last question with a 9 or 10?
  • Not applicable.

Apparently I failed the challenges.

 

~ by Carrey on 17 October 2007.

Leave a comment